Confusion.

I’ve been working very hard to get where I am today. Yes, where I am is just a student position at a college entity, but I’ve been working almost since day one to achieve that goal.

It looked as though that goal was achievable just the day before yesterday. But then it came to my attention that the position I was seeking, which was all but guaranteed to me by the person who holds that position now, is being sought after by a person who I believe is unqualified but will get the position anyway.

It doesn’t help that the person who originally said the job would be mine actually recommended this other person apply for it as well.

What’s worse is this other person has a rapport with our college adviser. It’s so hard for me to describe the circumstances without naming names. But let’s just say this other person has a similar job that I have now, but I’ve seen this person’s work and it is subpar, especially compared to mine. I’m not trying to build myself up to be something I’m not, but I know my talents and I recognize my strengths. In comparison, I would be far better at the job the two of us are seeking.

Am I afraid this person will get the job? If I didn’t have a biased adviser, then I’d say, “no.” But this person is a teacher’s pet of sorts, and I fear that this is what’s going to catapult this person to the position that rightly belongs to me.

I am angry about this. I have literally put all my time and effort into this collegiate entity. I have failed classes because I’ve tried to do well in this one area. Yet despite my perfect attendance record, my stellar skills, my reliability and countless other aspects, the fact still remains that the person I thought was my friend and who saw me for my talents actually went to my now rival and asked that person to apply for the position.

So what’s so wrong with me? That’s a question I’ve been trying to answer all week.

Leave a comment