Resignation.

It’s very interesting how a society that doesn’t understand how depression works tags a person who is clinically depressed as “always depressed.” This is not so. Today, for example, I’ve resigned myself from sadness. It’s a good thing.

Perhaps it’s because I’ve also resigned myself from good grades. Of course it still weighs on me, but since I’ve convinced myself there’s really nothing I can do at this point, I’m feeling a little better.

But would people call me a liar because I’m happy today? Would people say I was falsifying my depression because today I’m not sad? Would people disclaim my future bouts of sadness because I have days when sadness never comes? Yes. Yes, they would.

The proof is in the pudding, or rather, in the YouTube. Just go there now and find a video by Jonah Mowry where he puts himself out to the world and unveils his issues with bullying and self mutilation. Then find the video called “Jonah Mowry Lied.”

Mowry posted a second video roughly four months after the first where he is obviously happier with the direction of his life. Because of his happiness, people who don’t understand bullying or depression think he’s a liar. Obviously, a person who was sad four months ago can’t ever be happy again, right?

But I’m resigning myself from the stigma. If people want to call me a liar, then fine. But so far, the only negative response I’ve garnered from my days of depression is annoyance. I can tell I’m grating upon some people. But those people are also strong and they love me. Thank God for that.

Leave a comment